Rains County Government

Departments                             Courthouse

County Office Locations               

County Judge

Commissioner Pct 1

Commissioner Pct 2

Commissioner Pct 3

Commissioner Pct 4

Commissioner Precinct Map                                                                                                 


County Clerk                                                                  Courthouse Annex

County Attorney

District Clerk

District Attorney (See County Attorney)




Automobile Registration



v Rains  County v

Founded in 1870 with the County Seat in Emory, Texas, Rains County has proudly been designated "Eagle Capital of Texas" where during the winter the lakes are home to many American Bald Eagles and other rare birds.  The fourth smallest of the Lone Star State's 254 counties, Rains is home to people who demonstrate Texas-sized heart and spirit.  The county is situated between two lakes bordered on the west by Lake Tawakoni, the catfish capital, and on the east by Lake Fork, the bass fishing capital;  the lakes offer exceptional sailing, boating, fishing, for outdoors enthusiasts, as well as numerous parks and abundant other recreational opportunities in the growing cities of  East Tawakoni, Emory, and Point. 


The Historical Society directs their efforts to preserving the notable history of the region for future generations.  More than 10,236 individuals make their home in Rains County's 250 miles, where they can enjoy the pleasures of rural and small-town life while living just a short drive from the big-city amenities of the greater Dallas-Fort Worth area.  Contributing to the quality of life in Rains County are strong exemplary schools and an array of cultural, religious, and civic organizations, including musical groups.  Residents of Rains County take justifiable pride in their accomplishments and look forward with anticipation to the new challenges and opportunities that lie ahead with no limits on what can be done.